REAL good headphones..........

victa1

Anyone here know about some good "cans"? I currently have the Sony MDR-V600. I bought these about 5 years back after my then puppy chewed up my Beyer 911s. For the money, the Sonys are fine, but just don't compare to the Beyers.

I remember reading some real good things about Grado 'phones a few years back. I have listened to some electrostatic Stax some time ago, and they were fabulous, but did not deliver the kind of level I need.

Most of my "serious" listening is done with open reel copies of records played on a "high end" TT, 15 and 7 1/2 ips half track.
Also some cassettes on a Nak 700II.

Stax electrostatics?
Woo hoo.......
I've got Sennheiser's[540 Reference Gold's].
Very nice,even for 10 year old phones.

I'm not an expert in headphones by any means, but I've heard favorable reviews of Sennheiser HD 580 from years ago. There are disputed claims that they run with the Grados, and they're still around so they can't suck too bad.

Apparently the Grado will show a predilection toward producing bass beyond what most others do. I personally don't like bass to be obtrusive and the preamp flavoring with the objective of driving your standard bass speakers instead of a set of headphones will likely produce a fairly different response to your ear. The damping on the output optimized for a larger inductive load relative to the headphones may tend to wash through the bass a bit and cause some perceivable loss of definition - my opinion only, and clearly very subject to how well designed your amp is. My guess is a guy looking to buy headphones like you are has got something pretty special pushing them, so this may not be a concern for you at all.

I did a couple of searches and the HD580 seems to go back a lot of years from what I can see despite newer models of Sennheiser coming and going - perhaps a "survivor" in the face of supposedly better technology that never worked out, since you can still get the 580?