problem w/ stopping my turbo buick!!!

cecil bass

i have a 87 we4 turbo buick and theres somthing wrong with the braking!!! the brakes have been converted to vacuum, not sure when .... but i have to push into the pedal very hard, i mean very hard to get it to stop what can be the problem with this i really need some advice to get it fixed cause im scared to drive . the pads are all good and was correctly bled .... and the pedal is really hard to push in as well !!! so it seems like it has the right pressure but i just have to really put leg and foot in to stop .... and help would be wonderful
thanks all

Yeah...I'd check the vacuum as well....also check the check valve and you might even have a leak in the booster.

thanks , can you tell me the best way to check the vacuum and where is the check valve located at ......im new to working on these black rocket ships

the check valve is the fitting where the vacuum hose hooks to the booster. you should be able to hear air rushing into the booster if you pop that fitting out of the booster shortly after shutting the engine off.

i'd bet that you have a bad booster, but it's also possible that your engine doesn't make enough vacuum to operate it, too... they really like 15" of vacuum, but will operate so-so at 10".

walk us thru your setup- how big is the booster, and where is it getting vacuum from the engine? if you don't know, then post up a pic or 2.

That was my problem when I converted....not enough vacuum. I bought a booster for an '89 caprice with vacuum switch option and that gave me two ports. I used one normal with engine vacuum and the other with an electric vacuum pump to make up for any difference. Insane braking and power braking isn't a problem as I've heard some guys talk about.

ok ill post some pics when i get back to colorado. i just put the car on a carrier for transport ...... so check back in a few days thanks you guys !!!!