Possible Blown Head Gasket? (need guidance)

frdstang93

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Turbo Buick world but have waited a long time to get a Grand National. My dream came true last Friday, this car has 65,000 miles on it and is in great shape. Last night I was out and got in it a couple time and afterwards the car started to overheat, now there is clearly moisture coming from the exhaust. Is this common and what head gaskets would yall recommend (if it is head gaskets)? I am going to start tearing it down but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

whoa man, dont tear anything down yet....Do you have any scan tools? Scanmaster, directscan? before you jump the gun get a scan tool to see whats going on.

I have no check engine lights and the exhaust smells like antifreeze, I just pulled the plugs and the plug from the rear cylinder on the pasenger side has antifreeze on it. Could it be the intake gasket?

What's all done to the car? Is it bone stock? Is the rad still original? What about the fuel pump? If it is a head gasket don't use the cheap felpro they pop really easy, use the original GM ones.

The car has a T66 turbo, it has the original radiaor. From what I can tell it has all of the general upgrades but nothing extreme. What numbers should I look for if I do a commpression test?

That's a decent size turbo, so a bad batch of gas and some detonation could definitely take out your head gasket. Do you have a vac gauge on the car? Depending on how bad the gasket is, you should see a decrease in your vac. Stock compression is around 150psi.

I just finished a compression test and all cylinders are holding between 120 and 125. What should I check next?

Compression seems fine. Is there oil in the coolant? What about coolant in the oil? Is your coolant level going down? If so, you could put some dye in it and try to see where it is leaking. You could also give it a leak down test.