Passing inspection in ct.

Darkie

Hi I recently bought an 87 GN. I was told its all original and seems to run great.
I got it from a member here last October.
This is my first turbo car and im new to CT so im not sure of the laws.
My car came to me with a gutted CAT and no mufflers, just pipes coming out the factory locations.
I went ahead and ordered a Cat from G-Body parts, I didnt notice there were no mufflers till today.:eek:
Am I correct in thinking that there is no way im going to pass with this setup.
Am I required to have mufflers, and if so is the gutted cat and pipes going to run better than with an exhaust and Hi-flo Cat.
I really love the sound the way it is now.
What exhaust should I go with.
Should I just go cheap and then return to no cat and pipes only after I pass, or get a good exhaust and leave it on there with the cat.
Im confused.:confused:
Any insight will be much appreciated.
Thanks Rich
I have till may 5 to get this done. my temp plates run out then.

Talking just about emissions, right?? They just look for a cat, that's all. No visual inspection under the hood at all. Main thing they care about is what comes out of the tailpipes. MIGHT have a hard time passing with a gutted cat but worth a shot.

Where in CT are you? Might want to have Otto check it out for you. Might be able to tell you if it will pass or not. Home Page He is right in Milford off of 95.

I called and left a message for him just before writing this
Then I contacted you about that polished 3in
Thanks for the advice and quick response
Rich

Forgot to ask
What happens if I don't get this done by the date the DMV gave me on my temp plate.
Thanks