Opinions about my problem

tomard

80 Vette with a 4BQ
Please don't call me a dumb****, as I know I am not an expert on this tranny yet, but stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night :D

I have two issues going on, may or may not be related, I rebuilt a 4BQ core that appeared stock in every way, ie D5 converter, all the checkballs in stock places, stock servo etc:

After rebuild and installed, new steels, red alto clutches, wide band, super servo, master rebuild kit, new front planetary, 13 vane pump and hardened shaft .... probably something I forgot to mention, but that is pretty close ...

A) No first gear (rebuilt a 4BQ core). Gets going in 2nd and up but sure takes some time to get her going (she is back up on jackstands as I wanted to check TV setup with pan off).

B) A leak from around my pump, I am going to drop her again to check it out, but wondered if maybe I am losing fluid pressure through pump leak???

Don't yet have pressure gauge ..... but I think I see one in my future .....

line pressure at minimum may be too high but usually only is a problem hot and after a long cruise. It shouldnt be over 90 psi at minimum tv. Maybe the band clearance is so tight that it cant release. Maybe exhaust hole is blocked?? Possible pressure reg is not properly installed. Verify leak is coming from arond the pump. It could be from the front seal.

Bison, anything to check BEFORE I start tearing it out? Band clearance maybe, as I did put in the TRANSGO reprogramming kit that put a couple of gold washers on either side of piston ..... that would tighten it up, I beleive???

Should I get the pressure gauge kit from BTO, or what would you recommend?

Bison, anything to check BEFORE I start tearing it out? Band clearance maybe, as I did put in the TRANSGO reprogramming kit that put a couple of gold washers on either side of piston ..... that would tighten it up, I beleive???

Should I get the pressure gauge kit from BTO, or what would you recommend?