Old GN needs help

Lugnutz

I have an 87 GN that has been parked for many years and needs a lot of work. Nothing is broken or blown up but at 140000 hard miles she needs a lot of TLC and I have little knowledge of what to do. The engine and tranny need to be rebuilt, the interior needs replacing and the body needs a lot of attention.

When finished, I want to end up with a very street-able, very reliable, daily driver but I want more power than the factory supplied. My problem is that I havent kept up with any of this knowledge for years so I am lost as to where to begin. Im hoping I can get some guidance from more knowledgeable people on this site.

Anyone want to help me out with some suggestions? I suppose the starting point is rebuilding the engine and transmission. What would you do to beef them up and improve upon them while you had them apart? I have a local engine shop that can do the work but I have no idea where to take the transmission for work.

You will benefit greatly by going to vortex.com and gnttype.com and spend a few days reading. Then you can search the site archives for answers to your immediate questions and finally you get to ask as many questions as needed for you to understand the special information about these cars.

Thanks. I already knew of gnttype.org but when I went to vortex.com it seemed like it had nothing to do with our cars. Was that possibly the wrong site?

Are you planning on doing most everything yourself? What is the time frame in which you want the car done? Budget? Nice to hear another GN is being brought back to life. There is tons of information on this site and very knowledgeable people. Search and ask questions. People here will help.

Peter