New MSD DIS4-compatability???

Joe Lubrant

" The Right Stuff "
I see that MSD has released their New DIS-4 system.
It now incorporates rotary switches in lieu of the dip switches in the older units.

Are these New Units compatable with the Fast system for the GN/TR ???

Since the older MSD systems did have compatability issues, what changes did MSD make to resolve the issues???

I guess that the rest of us owners with the older DIS-4's that still have issues will be left out in the cold :confused:

The old thread regarding MSD DIS-4 issues sort of died with not much help being offered by MSD.

I'm sure that most would not mind sending their older units in for Upgrade at a reasonable charge. Is MSD willing to offer that service???

Good Question ,I do know MSD did Know their were Issues with our cars.Be nice if they did stand up to the plate and im sure most would be willing to pay for an upgrade

I have no knowledge of the msd boxes, what benefits can one see from using one?
I allready have a 10 sec gn and do not have any ignition issues.

Thanks.:)

For one you can use the 2 step feature for consistant launches. It can used to take out timing later in run. Multiple sparks below 3000 rpm for better efficiency. Hotter spark above 3000 to open up the plug gaps for more HP.

I talked to Spike 3 days ago at MSD. The new box will offer the adjustablilty to properly sinc with the FAST, MOTEC ect. aftermarket ECU's without sending the FAST or DIS-4 back in to whoever.

Spike said the new box WILL be 100% compatible. I am waiting untill June, when the box will be available.

Originally posted by Ted A.
I talked to Spike 3 days ago at MSD. The new box will offer the adjustablilty to properly sinc with the FAST, MOTEC ect. aftermarket ECU's without sending the FAST or DIS-4 back in to whoever.

Spike said the new box WILL be 100% compatible. I am waiting untill June, when the box will be available.

Ted,