need info and recipes

natethegreat85

drive fast, take chances
I am starting this thread to get some help. Hopefully you all will post plenty of info all in here so when I'm ready, I won't have to keep using the search.

Bought an 85 GN in 2008 as a college graduation present to myself, and a year before the wedding date so she couldn't stop me :cool:. Anyway, my dad and I just replaced the steering, brakes, and control arms front/rear suspension with all the parts from Brian at gbody (awesome vendor). Handles like brand new.

I'm new to these TRs and my dad's expertise is in the 60s muscle cars. He's built a 69 Buick GS, 67 Olds 442, and starting a 61 Bel Air right now. Needless to say, he knows cars, but his knowledge is limited with our regals. From what I've read on all the posts I've seen, there's a lot of tuning that goes on with our cars.

I want to keep it a hot air, but want to be able to smoke the new "muscle" cars that are out i.e. mustang, camaro, challenger. Its my daily driver, and would like to keep it that way. I was born in 85, my car is an 85, it will stay an 85 (no intercooler):). I am sentimental, yes, but I'd rather give up the 35 or 40 HP to keep it HA. and I've heard Alky does wonders.

When I pull the engine/trans, I want to already have all my parts and just have to wait for the machine shop to do its thing.
So I need everything - heads, crank, cam size, bore, tranny, rear end, electronics... any recipe from any hot air out there and the successes and failures with them. I am very new to the car world, so any info you post will help as I am still trying to learn a lot. Call me crazy, but I don't plan on going to the track, I just want a fast, reliable car with above 15 mpg.

-Nathan

Attachments

• IMG_2185.jpg
    IMG_2185.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 232