king of all stupid questions

Hammer

Does injector size regulate max . boost pressure?Say i have a ta-49 ,can i run more boost with msd-50s versus 009s?Does more fuel deter knock or just cooler air/fuel?Im new to turbos,you can tell by my blown headgasket. p.s. love all the info on this site and hearing other peoples thoughts..

In a word, yes.

With the smaller injectors, folks get by with just running the injectors static. That is on 100% of the time. The stock chip even does that.

Trouble is having the injector transistion from going on and off to just on. There is this little window of time where the injector goes erratic. The trouble is that it maybe off more then on, and temporarily lean. Which is not good. Doing it repeatedly will blow a headgasket.

If you research all the decent injector material they all suggest a max of operating the injector 85-95% of the time. FWIW I have heard some go erratic right at 95%, so I'd say 90% max.

With the 009s your got a bunch of injector to run static, and while you can you still get into the erratic phase.

With 50s you just into the range that at 90% your flowing 45 PPH, and you need to start having a decent fuel curve to run well.

So while you can get by with 009s short term, they aren't the best answer.

But, well tuned 009s are better then poorly tuned 50s.
But, well tuned 50s will give you fewer headaches long term, when done right.

Trouble is having the injector transistion from going on and off to just on. There is this little window of time where the injector goes erratic. The trouble is that it maybe off more then on, and temporarily lean. Which is not good. Doing it repeatedly will blow a headgasket.
Bruce,
are you talking about the instant that the inj. goes to 100% duty cycle?