Just bought 85 GN

TPI79MC

Hi guys, I just bought an 85 GN that needs some work. I knew the guy I bought it from, and he parked it when it got a serious rod knock. The car has only 79000 miles on it. The car sat for a good 2 years now and when I went to start it, it fired right up and had a bad rod knock, but also smoked terribly. There was no trouble codes thrown, but the car ran horrible, and it sounded like the turbo was making a loud sound when I revved it up. I know for a fact that this car ran good when it was parked, it just had a terrible knock. Any thoughts? I am new at this and have no ideas. Any response would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:confused:

I'm no expert, but you *might* want to fix that bottom end knock before you destroy the crank. bottom end knock = shot bearing (right guys?)... that's what happened to me at least :)

Best of luck to you, hope you get it running, these are fun cars... and with the kind of help you get on this message board you won't be without help :)

Dave

A couple of us...including ME have pulled their motors out and had um rebuilt. Nothing like that fresh feeling. Sounds like thats what you need. Mine was exactly like yours when I bought it. Is yours a moonroof, T-roof or solid roof car ?

I had lotsa questions when I started out (a year ago) and ALL the guys on here are VERY knowledgable and willing to help you. Dont be afraid to ask...I wasnt.

Good luck with it.

There's a good chance the debris from the motor took out the turbo too especially since it's making a lot of noise. Make sure to flush or replace the oil feed line to the turbo when you do a rebuild on the motor. The best advise is to have someone familiar with these motors rebuild it. Most shops will set the clearances too loose like a Chevy motor and they wear out in less than 20,000 miles. I know, I did it twice.