Installing a new Torque Converter

ineil

How difficult is it to install a new Torque converter? Obviously I have never done it before. I don't have a lift or trans. jack. Basically working with jack stands and jack and doing it alone. Is it worth even attempting?

I previously posted this in the wrong section.

I did it once with the engine in the car, and I will never do it again. There are certain things that are just too much work and you're better off paying someone; especially if it's your first time. Laying on your back with a 300 pound transmission is just more work than it's worth. Next time, I will gladly pay someone to do it. Just my .02 cents. :)

That is what I thought. I did my entire suspension on my back, in it was not fun. I have a VERY tight area to work in. I will just continue to save.

Unless you make $75hr or more at your job i would do it myself. Its very easy to do if you have the right tools. You need a long 3ft extension and a 9/16 swivel socket for the bellhousing bolts. All else is pretty easy as long as you are working on a level surface. Be patient and it will go fairly easy.

bison said:
Unless you make $75hr or more at your job i would do it myself. Its very easy to do if you have the right tools. You need a long 3ft extension and a 9/16 swivel socket for the bellhousing bolts. All else is pretty easy as long as you are working on a level surface. Be patient and it will go fairly easy.

He said he's working with jack stands and doing it alone without a trans jack. :confused: