Hydroboost Issue after install

gn.87

Time Capsule
I need some thoughts to what the issue is. I'm no mechanic but I did hire a buddy who is a Turbo Regal owner and an ASE mechanic to tackle the project. I ordered the entire kit from Tallon Hydraulics http://www.tallonhydraulics.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=54_76&products_id=397
we finished the install and our pedal is not firm and when we press it it takes forever to come back up. it actually holds the brakes a moment after releasing the pedal. This kit came with the Wilwood M/C. We called the owner of the Tallon Hydraulics and he had us test the system to make sure the booster was working and we confirmed it was and the lines were correctly routed. He thinks there is air still in the line but my mechanic insists there is not. When bleeding the system we kept tripping the proportioning valve. My mechanic said in all 20 years of doing brakes he has never seen this happen. He said we can change the valve but he does not think this will solve our brake issue mentioned above (soft pedal and long return time. Oh I forgot to mention that when the car is off the pedal is still not that firm but the pedal springs right back with little to no delay. Its only when the car is running do we get a slow returning pedal.

Any thoughts?
Adam

The pedal not returning quick is common. After some use it will improve.
Sounds like there is still air in the system. Does the pedal firm up with a couple pumps?

The pedal not returning quick is common. After some use it will improve.
Sounds like there is still air in the system. Does the pedal firm up with a couple pumps?

We bled it over and over again and put two quarts of fluid through. We bled it by gravity and by the pedal. The pedal does not get any firmer with a couple of pumps.

Get rid of the T fitting on the return lines. Both returns need to go directly to the P/S fluid reservoir. Which usually means using a different one then the stock one.