how to lower my car

kTrainHurricane

Vader Drives a GN
whats the best way to lower my car? i'm new to the TB community, and dont know what the commonality is between drop springs, coilovers, or w/e Thanks...

Hello,
I used Bell Tech 2 inch drop spindles for the front. In the rear, lowering springs and good shocks should do it. Good trailing arms and sway bar.

Coach

JDSfastGN; how was your 60' with the coilovers on the front?

Since I got them on I haven't had a real track day. I ran it once on a couple years ago in oklahoma but couldn't hold any boost at the line and ran a 1.73 on a 2 lb launch. Other than that I have only run it at a track with terrible prep and couldn't 60 better than a spinning 1.8. Dunno if the coilovers are hurting or not, but the weight transfer is hard to come by now.

All the cars I've lowered have been done the same way... and for free. :cool:

110314_lg.jpg

i was thinkin about doin this...

It really is the easiest and most cost effective way to do it.

I went from this stock ride height:
DSC066892.jpg

to this with factory rims and cut coils:
DSC067214.jpg

and finally to this with Welds and another coil chop to level it better...
(might still hack another 1/2 coil off the rears)
DSC067852.jpg

It will ride a little more firm...

Every car is different, so it's hard to say where to start.

Best advice I can offer is, take only a little at a time.

I usually start by taking a full coil off, all the way around... set the car back down, bounce it a few times and cut again as necessary. Once I get close to the stance I want, I will only cut 1/4 or 1/2 coil at a time, depending how much further I want it to drop...

It can be a pain in the a$$ taking back apart and going back together... but your time is free.

Just remember, you can't add it back once you chop it off. :D

drop