Header clearance issue - Can the lower "ears" be cut back?

Redrum

I would like to set up my 2004R for one person dropping and installation. The problem is in the header clearance in my application (69 big block Chevelle with 2" Hooker headers.). I have to have a 2nd person to help lift and turn the tranny to get it above the headers, even with the passenger side header hanging loose.

If I could cut back the drivers side lower "ear" an inch and the passenger side 1.25 inch I could easily raise the tranny in by myself. I note one side has a hole in it which leads me to believe it is not a part of the engineered structure necesary for the housing structural integrity.

Are these ears part of the structural housing necessary for engineered integrity or are they only designed for application use?

I Sawzalled off the passenger side ear for downpipe clearance on my TH200-4R when doing my engine conversion. I didn't really think it added structural integrity to the tranny but I'm no expert.

I truly cut it off .... probably 2" or more until it followed the lines that were cast in above it and below. With a Sawzall and metal blade it cut like butter. Shavings everywhere.... either spray it with WD-40 to keep the shavings in place or cover/plug critical areas on the trans.

-GNX7

I posted...

this long reply to you last night Mike, and I came back from peeing, the computer had shut down for some reason. I had apologized to you and explained how peeowed I was about your trans issue. I wrote this frickin novel. To come back into the room and see it all gone, I was soo pissed! I just said screw it and went to bed. Man was I hot.
I will cut the ears while it is here. We do it all the time. I still cannot believe that post reply was gone...
Bruce
WE4

Bruce....

Thanks in advance for cutting back the "ears".