Had a conversation about an ideal fuel management system for TB ( Is there one?)

BARRACUDA1968

I'm relatively new to the TB world but have a decent grasp on fuel management. I use a Thundermax on my Harley and it seems similar to the Fast system or SD2 for the TB.

The Tmax auto tunes like the SD2 and the Fast within limits of the base map installed in the ECM using a WB. I can drive and let the computer do it's job them analyze the adjustments then save them and make that my new map and continue until the computer gets the tune correct. I can basically control anything I want with a laptop.

So I'm having this conversation with a buddy of mine who is a machinist/engine builder and my question or statement was why isn't there a way to protect my motor in the event I go lean /loose oil pressure or over boost? If there is I'm not aware of it.

I run 93/alky and worry constantly about hurting the motor because of detonation/too much boost etc.

It seems we rely on a few things to do there job or we break parts. I know this is part of the deal with high performance anything but if there is something available I would like to know what it is?

If I'm making a pass and for some reason I lose my fuel pump or alky people say I can't lift fast enough to save the motor. Ok fine. Is that all there is to it or is there something out there that will buy me some time or shut me down?

I'm making this thread for myself and other people who have the same questions/concerns I do.

I have read a few threads about the Fast system and SD2 but after about 2 pages the thread heads off on some direction I don't want to go.

So here it is, what is the best fuel management system/ fail safe system we can run in our cars? With pump gas and alky. I'm not going E85 because we don't have many stations around here. I need both systems to work or I'm in trouble so I want a safety net if there is one.

Thanks Brett