Got my turbo tweak e85 chip!

Adam Connell

Monster Truckin since 87'
If you dont want to read it all, there's a summary of my questions at the bottom.
Im stoked, I finally decided to jump on the band wagon and run E85 all the time. I've been running mixtures up to 50% for several years on and off and loved the stuff. I needed to get the car through emissions one last time, and it's always been a battle no matter what I've done. It didn't matter how fresh the oil was, the new cat, nothing. In fact I have a buddy who runs an inspection place and I took the car to him running just an open downpipe and we were able to get it to pass, when it wouldn't pass with a year old cat. I thought I was out of the woods last year, so I gutted the cat. Well I was WRONG! I've got to hit the sniffer one last time.:frown:

Between then and now I have found 90% of the vacuum leaks, and fixed them. I've also installed a new PCV and PCV grommet, and replaced a good deal of the vacuum hoses so the car is running MUCH better. My car also already runs on the hot side, and Im not totally sure why, but it likes to stay at 187-190 with the A/C on according to the scan master. I believe it has a 180 T-stat. I am going to replace the t-stat this year, so should I bump it up to a higher t-stat, maybe 190? I am also going to pull the heads this year and do a mild cleanup/port and polish on them. I mainly want to check out the head gaskets, because they have been in the car since I bought it 5 years ago, and I was NOT nice to them in the slightest... So I'll double check to make sure the head gaskets are not the cause of my warm running issue.

Is there anything special, other than the normal TT chip install I need to do? Im going to run the car down as low as I can get it, fill it up with a few gallons of E85 and burn that off, then fill it up with 100% E85.

Questions:
- Should E-85 pass emissions fairly easily?
- Should I run a 180 or higher T-stat?