Going antifreeze-less

incubus2432

Douchebag
If I want to switch to distilled water and Red Line Water Wetter with no antifreeze is there anything else I should run to inhibit corrosion? It is mainly a street car that sees no winter activity.....I will add some antifreeze for winter storage but other than that is there anything I need to know or a downside on a street driven car?

I use RL water wetter and water, and have no issues with corrosion. As it's not as cold here during the winter, I usually leave the mixture as is.

You might want to look at RMI-25 instead of RL water wetter?
I have been using RMI-25 for over 8 years with no trouble.

Gary

both are good but i would go with RMI thats whats in my cars

I Would Still Put Some Antifreeze In There Due To The Fact That Your Water Pump Needs Some Lubrication , Mabye Like A Cup! Or 2

use water saluble oil, ( I know i spelled that wrong lol ) but its oil used in machining etc. that is also used in engines and it acts as a lubricant for your water pump etc. but still allows water to do its thing and if something goes wrong the water oil mixture wont hurt anything etc.

I Would Still Put Some Antifreeze In There Due To The Fact That Your Water Pump Needs Some Lubrication , Mabye Like A Cup! Or 2

The little additives in a cup of antifreeze will make no difference. Using an 8 oz. treatment of RMI-25 will give you all the water pump lubrication you need.

The Red Line WW does NOT contain inhibitors and WILL corrode if left in the system for a while. RMI contains the same surficants as WW, but also has many more beneficial elements for the cooling system.

RMI-25 is not a "new promise in a can", it has been around for over 30 years, and is used extensively in the commercial and industrial market, especially in diesels.:)

Yep..

The little additives in a cup of antifreeze will make no difference. Using an 8 oz. treatment of RMI-25 will give you all the water pump lubrication you need.