GN Turbo Power for road racing an 87 GN?

vintageracer

I am new to the GN seen as far as performance upgrades. I am and have always been a "road racer", not a drag racer. I have not been down 1/4 mile in over 20 years! I do however road race 4-6 times a year in Vintage races across the country in addition to marque specific club road racing events . I have just purchased my 2nd 87 GN. I will be doing suspension upgrades for handling/braking while maintaining a stock or close to stock drivetrain. Overall power is not a problem, just when and how that power comes on is a BIG problem.

I have seen MANY engine performance upgrades for drag racing a GN. Has anyone or is anyone doing engine modifications for a car that will be used for serious road course driving? The Buick turbo power is incredible however it seems to be incredible (too much) at the wrong time when braking or coming out of a corner. Are there modifications to flatten/equilize/feather the turbo boost for more even power or am I stuck with power that is more on/off?

Thanks for your advice and input.

Mike

vintageracer said:
I am new to the GN seen as far as performance upgrades. I am and have always been a "road racer", not a drag racer. I have not been down 1/4 mile in over 20 years! I do however road race 4-6 times a year in Vintage races across the country in addition to marque specific club road racing events . I have just purchased my 2nd 87 GN. I will be doing suspension upgrades for handling/braking while maintaining a stock or close to stock drivetrain. Overall power is not a problem, just when and how that power comes on is a BIG problem.