Getting mid-high 12s on '87 GN? How much?

70Nova355

I am pretty new at the Turbo Regal thing, but have done a bit of homework... I'm looking into an '87 Grand National with 78k miles on it. It's bone stock, but comes with hooker cat back, and KYBs in boxes, to put on...

This car is going to be a daily driver, but I don't really drive that much, as I'm in college, and live a 1/2 mile from the school. and I take the train when I come home (5 hour train ride)....

I basically just want to get my GN into the 12s, maybe run somewhere in the 12.5-12.7 range on street tires. I need someone to help me get there. I am mechanically inclined, but haven't done much turbo stuff before. Are 12s a MBC, boost gauge, the cat back, and good gas away? I keep getting told that 12s are about $1000 in a GN... I just want to know how to get there the easiest (and safest) way possible.

Also, would a stock motor see any real performance gains from a FMIC, or would that be just basically getting the motor ready for heavier mods? I do plan on making it much faster when I graduate....probably mid 10s, and then it won't be daily driven...

Thanks in advance, guys!
David

See my sig to see how I run low 12's. My fastest time was even with the stock D/P.:D
1. Scanmaster
2. New fuel pump
3. Adj. fuel press. reg.
4. Bleeder valve (to turn up the boost)
5. Race gas
6. Slicks
7. A helmet:D

Street Tires?

The hard part is going to be using street tires. You can see what GN1220 did, but he used "race tires". (Well, the ET streets are called street tires..) Some guys run drag radials on the street, but it's not the best thing if you run into a little rain! Just depends on how much you want to bias toward drag racing, at the expense of traction in other conditions.

It doesn't take much to run 12's: Traction, adequate fuel (amount and octane), elevated boost and a $25 chip.

A hooker catback is a good improvement over the stock exhaust as is a test pipe in place of the cat.