FAST XFI....do I need it and is it worth it??

rssooner

Hello to everyone.

First let me state that I have very little knowledge on this subject but have read a lot on this site so I am not clueless. I have a GN that I ran a lot in the past but over the past 6 years I have only driven it a couple times a month and no track time. I got the car to go 11.87 at 115. I'm in a place where I can start getting the car back out to the track and I want to do some upgrades and replacements (i.e.:fuel pump, alcohol system) but I also want to know if the FAST system would be a nice addition even though 1. I don't have the knowledge on it yet 2. Is it worth the $$$ if I am going to be going to the track 6-8 times a year? 3. Is their a website or YouTube that explains the ends and outs of it as it relates to our Buicks?

I appreciate the input.

RS

Not for the novice, but you have to have one if you want to learn how to use it. Most who switch say they wished they would have done it sooner. Get used to using a laptop though; a lot. As far as if you need it, that's up to you. As far as it being worth the money, that's up to you too. I'll get one eventually, but I'm mostly doing it so I can learn it and help others with their cars. Plenty of guys have gone fast on a stock ecm and chip. With either, user can mess the car up bad. Just depends on the method you want to use to get where you want to go.

Sorry for the wishy washy answer.

Not to get off topic but I can't help at all with the FAST system but maybe you could check out the SD2 chip and a powerlogger. It has some interesting tuning capabilities.

Take the cash your going to spend and buy more upgrades. Post the up the mods you have done so far and people will help you from there.