Epoxy for garage floor input needed.

groumoutis

We are building a new 3 car garage next month and I am thinking of putting epoxy on the floor. I'm not wanting to have it professionally done, gonna do it myself if I decide to do it. Any input would be great.

I do floor coatings for a living part time.. epoxy has a 1 year warranty and has been doing the same thing for 50 years... failing. I have gone in 3 days later and cut a Menards do it yourself floor off that a contractor put down... It will cost more to cut off a bad floor than to put down a new one the right way.. check your options in your area and see who had success with what. It will also take 28 days for your floor to cure before you can touch it with anything.. do it once.. do it right. Hardness plays a role as does hydrastatic pressure... there are lots of options besides epoxy do it yourself floors.

I used the Behr kit from Home Depot. It was very easy. Still looks great after six years. As the op said do not put anything on a newly poured concrete floor. I would recommend waiting at least 6 months.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I did my shop floor myself and two friends helping. Stay far away from the box store stuff. The concrete must be prepped correctly for the epoxy to bind. I had my floor concrete grinded first. Go on Garage Journal and search the floor section, alot on info.

IMHO: if you building a new garage, speak with a concrete guy that does floors, not some dirt mason guy. Look into polishing the floor instead. A polished/sealed floor is 100x better than epoxy.

Billy T.
gnxtc2@aol.com

I have heard about the flaking and cracking of the epoxy floors. The reason I asked was to make sure it wasn't from the people not doing it right. I will just pressure wash it before I seal it.