Cranks but won't start

RoadShreader

I thought I'd pull my 86 GN out of the garage to let it run for awhile and wash the dust off it. I've been storing it for a long time now but try to start it every so often. I had it idling for about 15-20 minutes today when all of a sudden it shut down. RPM's didn't drop, engine didn't sputter, it just stopped running.

I think it has something to do with the fuel system but I'm no pro. I did find that the fuse behind the alternator was burnt out and replaced it. However, the car still won't start. I have the hotwire kit installed and everything looks fine.

I figured instead of scratching my head and playing guessing games I'd reach out for some guidance. I wish this happened while the car was in the garage instead of outside in the elements but I'm hoping on solving the issue quickly with some helpful advice from members of this forum.

if you blew the fuse to the hotwire you either have a shorted relay or wiring issue , or the pump is shorted out

you could bypass the hotwire setup at the rear bumper behind the tank by unplugging the hotwire and plugging the factory plug back into the tank sender harness but if the pump is bad the next thing youll blow is the FP/inj fuse in the fuseblock inside the car

I'm thinking about replacing that relay at the back of the car by the fuel tank that is apart of the hotwire kit. I just can't see why things would go bad from simply starting the car and letting it idle.

I can hear the fuel pump initiate when I turn the key on. The fuel pressure gauge in the engine compartment says 40.

I'm confident I have spark.

As JM implied use the KISS method. My impression is that if she is cranking there is a fuel or spark issue, most likey the issue is fuel delivery related. Just as a reminder you may want to check your fuel filter.

Last edited: