Coolant puked/engine got hot

Sinical

Hi guys, I'm a noob so bare with me but I had my GN out and about yesterday cruising around and had the scanmaster set to coolant temp reading. It got to 260 before I pulled over and shut it off and had it flat bedded home. As you can see it puked up some coolant and the coolant was boiling in the overflow.

Just for some history I had a small leak last year and put some of that stuff in to seal it up (I know it's not recommended and you live and learn). What do you guys thing? Time for a new rad? Is there anything I need to look at and check out first? Is 260 so hot that I should be worried about damage above and beyond the coolant mess? Car wasn't smoking when I pulled it over and was above 230 for maybe 5 minutes...:confused:

buickantifreeze.jpg

Buickantifreeze2.jpg

Buickantifreeze3.jpg

Buickantifreeze4.jpg

In the first pic the coolant is puddling there b/c it ran behind the hood mat and leaked there when I popped the hood.

I had something close to that happen to me and it turned out to be just a worn out/old radiator cap. If yours is old, it may have quit holding the correct amount of pressure and allowed the coolant to exit prematurely. If you are even questioning the age of yours, it would be a good idea to replace it with a new Stant or other reputable brand.

This, of course, is assuming that there was not a mechanical failure involved as well in your situation. If this does not cure it, I would begin questioning the proper operation of your water pump and/or thermostat.

If you have a blown a headgasket, it can force air into the cooling system that can push the coolant into the tank. It is usually accompanied by the tank appearing to boil even if the coolant is not excessively hot.