Contractor Scam

mob1202

Professional
Anyone here ever have any experience with a general contractor
who hired sub contractors to come in and do the work and then
never payed them after you gave him the money for the job?

If so, what did you do about it and how did it go?

Thanks in advance...

I used to be a general contractor years ago, Your job was to pay me, MY job was to pay subs if I hired them. He hired them, not you, tell them to go after him to get their money! You have done paid it [ unless you hired them for him then you are problely in a mess ] Daniel Ray

Nope!

I agree. It's not your problem. Tell the subs to go after the general.

The subs will just file liens, and U R SKREWED...:eek:
You should have demanded lien releases for all the work, when you paid him. You have the check in 1 hand, and he hands you correctly executed lien releases, in the other.
How he obtained the releases from the subs is his problem...

Typically on larger jobs the owner will withhold a 10% holdback until the subs are paid. If it has been 45 days since the project reached substantial performance, then they will not be able to lien the property.
If the contractor released a purchase order for the subs to do the work, then the subs will have to chase him for that.

You should have demanded lien releases for all the work, when you paid him. You have the check in 1 hand, and he hands you correctly executed lien releases, in the other.

Yep, I have had to file liens and lawsuits against the property owners when scumbag general contractors stole the homeowners and my $$. It gets nasty so hang on.

Chuck is dead on with his advice. If you demanded waivers you would not have this problem. It is your (the property owners) problem now.

Typically on larger jobs the owner will withhold a 10% holdback until the subs are paid. If it has been 45 days since the project reached substantial performance, then they will not be able to lien the property.