Computer Geeks, Need Help - Bad Malware/Spyware

BLACK6PACK

1 sec reaction King
IE opens up on its own, that's the most obvious problem. I go to a bunch of malware/spyware sites and they're blocked by the virus. Even a bunch of pages on microsoft.com are blocked. Short of a complete reinstallation of xp any advice. If its a complete reinstall. How do I go about that. I don't have disks just a sticker on the side of the computer with the code key. It was bought from the computer store with all the software installed. XP and windows 2003.

Malwarebytes.org

Download and try this. It cleans up all kinds of junk. If you have a hotmail/live messenger account, I can remote in and fix it for you.

Thanks Killer! I was hoping you would pop in on this thread. Hope you didn't take offense to the "computer geek" title. Anymore its a badge of honor that comes with a good paycheck. I'm a graphic artist, with enough IT knowledge to be IT's worste nightmare. I know enough to be dangerous! :D

It found several trojans, but several of my other virus stuff found trojans only to be back the next time I booted up the computer. I ran the scan and deleted all the crap, then it took me 4 times to get it to reboot. Every time I tried to boot into safe mode the video card failed. :confused: finally worked on the 5th try.

I opened up AVG and it was actually able to get the updates. AVG, Lavasoft and most of microsoft virus pages were blocked by the trojans. I'm running AVG right now.

Oh, and IE hasn't popped up in the background and started running videos (yet). :)

Make sure you don't have remote access enabled. Download "Hijack This" (free) and get rid of everything you don't want. Also use ZoneAlarm(free).