chip ideas

JayLashua

I have my chips at 18 degrees, maybe up to 20 depending on what im trying.

I'm experimenting with a home-made 16 position multichip right now (im too lazy to ad the 5th jumper to make it 32 positions.. besides, aint that overkill? ;)

anyhow.

I have to add alot of fuel trim for rpm to supress knock, yet it reads rich either way. Stock chip fuel levels are horrible for knock on my car.

my valve seals leak, for sure. original turbo leaked on the compressor for about 2 months before i changed it.. it pufs huge oil smoke cloud when i start it, and then it goes away minutes later and the idle cleans up.

now this is what i figure from reading different sources:

burning oil leaves a artificial rich reading to the o2 sensor which it tries to take out fuel when it shouldnt. hence having to run high pe rpm trim..

now I never see any smoke while under boost.. which tells me the new turbo is still good.

I want to control, how much fuel can be removed from the o2 sensors readings..

its not just a bandaid cause im too cheap to get valve springs and seals, everyone knows switching o2 sensors are not entirely accurate. and I know better than to try and tune the car so the o2s read 760 when its probably closer to 650 and then blow a head gasket.. heh.

No I dont really know that much of what im talking about.. just opinions and (partially) educated guesses.

Either way, being able to burn 16 chips in 5 seconds on one EEProm device is sure as hell convenient. Looking for any suggestions possible.