Boost creep, stock set up??

ngnowner

How fast was it officer?
Hello, finally got the car running well enough to make some WOT runs. As far as I can tell all is stock with the exception of the fpr and the chip but can't tell who's chip it is. Boost stays at 14lbs until she winds up in 3rd. Slowly rises to 16lbs at which point I get out of the throttle, don't want to break anything. Replaced all the vacuum lines, check valves, boost lines, and tested actuator, no leaks. Is this normal for a stock set up? Could the boost solenoid be bad, is there a way to test it? :confused: Don't have a scanmaster yet but hopefully soon. Thanks, paul

Wish I could answer your question, but I'm new to this board, and I'm still learning about these cars. Someone will answer your question. I think you would be heading in the right direction getting a scanmaster.

Steve

Paul,
I think your best to keep your foot out of it until you get the scanmaster. At least then you'll be able to check for knock. I would make sure the fuel pressuse is up as well.
New as well and just learning.

BTW
You already got the most popular question
Do you have a scanmaster? No
get one and until then stay out of WOT.

This is the # 2 question
After market Boost gauge or stock gauge?

Hmmmnn..

:confused: Do I have to pay for an answer on this forum :confused:

Let's see, from your 1st post @ 9+pm, til your 2nd@ 6+am, may not have given some folks time to respond???:rolleyes:

As for a response, has the exh hsg been ported to fit the w/g puck? If not, the boost creep could be there.
As for the gas pedal, [already mentioned], maybe stay off it some, til you get a scan tool, and find out WTF is what.
BASIC TOOL LIST:
Scan tool.
Boost ga.[NOT the dash ga.]
FP gauge, and enough hose to put it on the W/S.
VOM.

As far as "paying"... It's a given, that experience comes with a price.:eek: :D
All the way from:
Poor performance, to blown h/g's, to a membership in the DOTCC.;)