57.9 KB · Views: 441
  • low trailer_arm 005.jpg
    low trailer_arm 005.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 444
  • low trailer_arm 007.jpg
    low trailer_arm 007.jpg
    57.6 KB · Views: 435
?.....
Bending stresses are going to show at the weak link. That threaded rod is the weak link.

i dont think the rear end can broken, twins or bent a
3/4 grad 8 ( 56 000 psi ) threaded or not lolol

a screen shot of the ajustable one

Claude

Attachments

• proe_lower_arm.jpg
    proe_lower_arm.jpg
    37 KB · Views: 367
"3/4 grad 8 ( 56 000 psi ) threaded or not "

Whatever...

As a Mechanical Engineer I can appreciate that there are "stress risers" at the point where thread meets the shank of the rod end... and that is likely where the weak link is.... however since I haven't modeled it myself... it is hard to say if it will or won't be a problem.... You would have to assume some load to model it accurately... and it would be a "guess" IMHO.... without some data from an arm fitted with strain gauges and run through some testing where you load the crap out of it...

With that said... it is entirely possible that the size of the rod end... is plenty big and will never fail.... but who knows???

I hope SweetV6 has made his based off of either a similiar commercially available part... or assumed loads that are worse than it will likely see... and designed accordingly...

In any case... the solid model looks sweet.

Can we see the FEA output screenshot? .... and what loads did you assume?