'85 T-Type timing chain replacement

abell8237

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hola,

I want to replace the timing chain and sprockets my '85 T-Type. After referring to my Haynes manual, I'm a bit concerned about the removal of the harmonic balancer (torsional damper). I've gotten conflcting reports on the whole timing process. With the balancer, do I need a special puller (to keep the damper from falling into the block if dropped?) to accomplish this? Also, do I need a timing light or is correctly lining all the dots up sufficient? This is my first time messing with timing, period, and I want a better idea of how deep and difficult this project would be for a novice such as myself.

Any major concerns, guidelines, or tips will be much appreciated.

Timing Chain

What type of chain are you replacing with? do not need a timing light but you will have to set cam sensor timing I use a caspers tool you can do a search to find out how to do w/o a cam sensor tool. Nothing will fall into the block i have found most dampenors will come right off with a tap from a hammer but if its stubborn then a standard balancer puller will get it off. The dampenor will only go on one way...its keyed. The timing set will have marks on them some may have multiple marks on the crank sprocket...hence which timing chain set.
I thouroughly encourage cleaning the motor well with degreaser before you start. It is not a hard job but if this is your first time seek some hands on help, keep your parts together as you remove them it helps in re-assembly. you must also prime the oil pump when you get the cover back on.