7004r vs 2004r

black-gn

i want to find out which trans is better between the 700 or 200? will the 700 bolt right up and what i need to do to make it work? thanks

The bellhousing is the same and I believe the crosmember is the same, the 700 is longer, though and will need to have the driveshaft shortened.

From what I've read, the 200 and 700 are pretty close to each other in durability in stock form. I think dollar for dollar upgraded, the 700 is better. I have no first hand knowledge, but I believe that is what I read.

The 700 is a Chevy pattern bell housing, the 200 has BOP and Chevy patterns. The 700 ratios are not as good. I know that the 200 has a lower first gear and I think the OD gear is higher. Both have to be built for big power. The GN, 442 and Monte ss trans are the best starting points.

sleeprtsi2 said:
The bellhousing is the same and I believe the crosmember is the same, the 700 is longer, though and will need to have the driveshaft shortened.

From what I've read, the 200 and 700 are pretty close to each other in durability in stock form. I think dollar for dollar upgraded, the 700 is better. I have no first hand knowledge, but I believe that is what I read.