23* or 28*

suburban

what would you guys run with a 44, 23* and 25 lbs boost or 28* and 21lbs boost.... going to the track sat nite.

I'm far from an expert, but I think you'd be hard pressed to find 5 degrees of timing making more power than an extra 4 psi of boost.

Peter

If you have access to good enough fuel. You can have your cake and eat it too. Use 28º and sneak up on 25# of boost.

My race profile is 28º of timing and 25#+ of boost.

BTW, at the track I run Unocal 114 exclusively.

thanks for the replys guys. turbo Dave, I have both a pte 28* and a 23*. the 23 is working awsome on the street with alky, the 28 has a little too much transitional but I was thinking of giving it a whirl with c16. I am running 24-25 lbs on the street @ 23*. this is a unopened motor and I want to be carefull with timing...... thanks, John.

Should be able to run the 28* with C16 no prob. Be careful with 110. Start out about 22psi and work your way up

On this issue of chip timing, I'm wondering if I get my 26* race chip lowered to 24* or so if I will gain some mph at the big end.

My car went 12.06 at 109 (running 22 psi with 730 low 02's) but I couldn't get her into the 110-111 mph range to save my azz! My uncle who has been racing small block chebbies for many years says that taking a few degrees of timing out of the chip will give me more at the big end, providing that my car makes enough power down low. I think with a 1.67 short time, it's doin allright! :D Anybody think it's worth a try?

I run Unocal 114 leaded fuel at the track.

The only time less timing makes more top end is if you have too much to begin with. You will slow down with less timing. There is something bottling you up somewhere else, either intake (heads/IC) exhaust.

If you are getting KR less timing may make you go faster