200 4r 2-3 shift problems

Ssmnt408

I have a 200 4r with 3500 non lock up and a shift kit in it, not sure which one. The problem is the 2-3 shift is real sloppy under hard throttle, it shifts great up to half throttle, but at full throttle it jumps probably 1500 rpms before engaging third gear. I am putting a th350 in it's place until i can figure it out, I just hope it's in the v-body and fixable cause i'm gonna miss the overdrive.

thanks for any help :smile:

Ssmnt408 said:
I have a 200 4r with 3500 non lock up and a shift kit in it, not sure which one. The problem is the 2-3 shift is real sloppy under hard throttle, it shifts great up to half throttle, but at full throttle it jumps probably 1500 rpms before engaging third gear. I am putting a th350 in it's place until i can figure it out, I just hope it's in the v-body and fixable cause i'm gonna miss the overdrive.

thanks for any help :smile:
im no pro but i did have a similar problem and julio said to overfill the fluid because when your wot it pushes the fluid to the back causing it to starve for fluid..he put it at about where the "s" is on the fluid stick.. maybe this is the problem,as it helped with my car..i would never go to a non od tranny?good luck to you..

What you are looking at more than likely is cavitation from the fluid being pushed away from the fluid pick up on the filter. A common problem with the 200 4R. You can verify with the extra quart, but it is not a fix. Running over filled has it's own set of problems as well. Let us know what you find. The accurate way to know if it is cavitation is to install a line pressure gauge and verify if you get a pressure drop when it tries to hit third. If you do a gauge reading, make sure you do it before you add the extra fluid.

thanks, Mark

2quiktocare said: