Which 4L80E to buy?

TurboChrisBenji

I'm looking to put a 6.0L with 4l80e combo in my Turbo T. I wanted to know if there is any specific year or model that has a stronger/better trans, than the rest? What are you guys that are running one using to control it? Thanks, Chris.

Hmmmmm, I am not a tranny expert but I will take a stab at this. I was told that 98 or 99 and up are better. The way to ID them is; the oil cooler lines on the pass side of the tranny are NOT next to each other. They are in two different locations. One by the tail shaft and other next to the bell housing.

HTH

Prasad

The 97 and up and he is correct the cooler lines are not next to each other. One of the with a transgo shift kit will take 800hp. I have a mvb with tb in mine but if go with this trans I have a TCI controller I will make you a good deal on. Jim at Transformance built mine and so far so good. I know a few people that he built the trans in their cars one of which was a daily driver that 9.40s and has been in the car for over 3 years now with out any trouble.

The 97 and up and he is correct the cooler lines are not next to each other. One of the with a transgo shift kit will take 800hp. I have a mvb with tb in mine but if go with this trans I have a TCI controller I will make you a good deal on. Jim at Transformance built mine and so far so good. I know a few people that he built the trans in their cars one of which was a daily driver that 9.40s and has been in the car for over 3 years now with out any trouble.

How do you like the mvb? I will be drag-racing occassionally. Is OD engaged with a switch or a custom shifter? What shifter are you using? Thanks for the info. Chris