Whats the diff between a brf 200r4

rtseast71

I bought a 87 we4 it came with a spare brf 200r4 was wondering what the diff. the car has a reg 200r4 in it. Is brf better?

Posted from the TurboBuick.Com mobile app

If you bought a 87 turbo regal it should have a brf in it. Get under the car and check the metal tag on the tail of the trans and it should say brf. If it doesn't put the spare you have in it.

The one in the car is does not have the tag on it. Why is the BRF better? I'm new to these cars don't know much about them

I bought a 87 we4 it came with a spare brf 200r4 was wondering what the diff. the car has a reg 200r4 in it. Is brf better?

These car came with a yellow tag written on the tag BRF which indicates it's a 2004r

You can look underneath your car and see if the transmission pan cover looks like the one on the inserted photo bottom left picture marked THM200-4R

There are no different types of 2004r transmission, but one can strengthening the 2004r. You can you start to read on the "Transmission Talk column"

Since this is your first TR you should start to read about these car, and a good start is the "General Turbo Buick Tech, Info For New Turbo Regal Owners"

Attachments

• Different Transmission Pans.jpg
    Different Transmission Pans.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 490
The one in the car is does not have the tag on it. Why is the BRF better? I'm new to these cars don't know much about them

I think the BRF has the better valve body, converter, servo, and governor.

The BRF you got with the car is probably already toast thus the reason why it's out of the car and was given to you as spare.

There are no different types of 2004r transmission

BS. They all have the same overall length and mounts, etc. but there's a TON of different calibrations out there and internal differences/changes from year to year, etc. There are even different cases, I have a BOP only 200-4r out in the shed.