What carb do I use?

blacknight80

Hi Guys,

I know this is going to start a pissing match between Holley and quadrajet guys but I have to ask.......which do I use.

I have a Pontiac 301 carb I can modify to be boost referenced and this was the original plan but here's the kicker. I picked up a 770 Holley street avenger for 50 bucks....it's virtually new from one oft dads buddy's.

I've never used a Holley before but for 50 bucks I couldn't say no....that's Canadian dollars to lol....that is pretty well free in American. I realize I will need an adapter to bolt it down and fuel lines but what else is required to make it fit. Does our linkage line up decently?

The Rochester will be a direct fit and it has a relatively fresh rebuild on it so I'm working with a good carb either way. I just wanted to know what will give me the most power.

I'm not worried about learning to fiddle with the Holley either so I'm kinda split down the middle.

Try one and if you don't like it, try the other. Since the Q-jet will bolt directly on I'd start with that one first.

A 770 CFM Holly may just be a little too big for a 3.8. It will most likely have no low end response. A 600-650 CFM Holley would probably work OK. The Q-jet will work on a small engine due to the small primaries and the adjustable secondary air valve. I would use the Q-Jet.

I started to mod my q jet last night and I ran into a snag. I was drilling my pilot hole and my bit broke off in the hole and Is jammed, so I'm hoping a cobalt bit will cut through it.

I didn't really think you could over carb a motor. I was always under the impression that the motor will only use as much air as it can whether you run a 650 or a 950. I may have to jet it down a bit to lower the amount of fuel in the mixture.....correct me if I'm incorrect. Isn't the stock q jet rated anywhere between 350-950 depending on jetting, rods, hangars, etc?