Waste gate Rod?

Mike Mags

IM new to GN owernship. I have an adjuatable waste gate rod that was put in by the previouse owner.
Let me know if this is correct.
Tightening the rod, or shortening the rod will increase boost?
is that right?
The previouse owner raced it a bit and am curently running 18#.
Id like to decrease it a bit.
What is a good setting for street driving?
How many turns on the rod would equal 1#.?

Thanks for your answers to my few questions, I'm still learning.

shortening the rod increases boost. Something around 1 full turn is about 1 psi. 17 or less is usually about the max that can be run on pump gas depending on each car and its mods. Try and tune for zero knock and if you don't yet have a scan tool, do some research and get one.
Happy tuning.

Do not turn that thing up unless you are running race gas or Alky. It is probably set too high already.
Mine took a couple of turns to get 1 more psi. My wastegate is probably getting tired anyways. We will find out when I get some 100 in there:D

Sorry I thought your post said INCREASE not DECREASE. I need to go to bed. What kind of boost gauge do you have? You cant count on the stocker

Welcome to the darkside. These guys have answered your question. I just wanted to say welcome and don't forget to check out www.gnttype.org for tons of turbobuick reading.

Mike,

Welcome.

Shortening the rod increases boost. Lengthening the rod reduces boost.

One full turn of the rod (i.e. 360 degrees) equals about one PSI. However, this is not cast in stone, and presupposes a bunch of things, including that your wastegate actuator is in good shape.

I'm constantly amused at the sort of boost folks claim they can run on pump gas. I believe that a lot of them are getting a ton of knock/knock retard without knowing it, or just ignoring it and driving on.