Upgrade the ecm!

Shamusvelez

Im new to the GN family, ive mentioned this in other posts. I just put a shit ton of cabbage into my new baby girl, a 1985 GN. New motor, pretty much new everything under the hood. Some suspension work, interior etc etc blah blah blah!
All in all its still stock though, no upgrades yet.

I recently aquired an 87 gn ecm in great nick with the stick chip and all. Its my understanding that swapping my stock 85 ecm for the 87 ecm will bring certain benefits. Not entirely clear on all of said benefits, so could use some input on exactly what i will gain.... And also, do i have to do anything to make this swap, like burn a special chip or use my stock chip, or use the 87 chip,or click my heels together three times, or just simply swap the old for the new. Could use some help in the matter. Thank you for any info to help enlighten me. Im learning alot real fast with these cars, just some things having a hard time deciphering in past threads. Its almost upgrade time so, starting with the easiest stuff first.

get a Turbotweak chip- it will be custom made just for your car.
then the ecm just plugs right in.
i don't know what all the benefits are, but it worked pretty damn sweet in my 84..

If you plan on keeping the car 100% stock at 7-8 lbs boost, the stock ECM is probably ok.
Just for scantool availability . . . You cannot use scanmaster or PL with the 84-85 ECM. That alone is worth the swap.

The custom chip for the 84-85 is almost impossible, plus it does not have the ability to log temp.
Not sure if TT even does stock chips anymore . . . . and even if you get one, I am not sure if you can Tweak it.

As stated by Novaderrik . . . . 86-87 ECM is truly plug and play. There are no tricks, gimmicks.
Just be sure to get a CUSTOM chip, and let TT know if you have the IAT installed . . . .Which I highly recommend anyone does.