tuning

polin2424

hey guys im new to these tuning stuff. when you guys say tune what do you you mean by that. i know what tune means but what is needed for tuning. do you guys just mean adjusting fuel pressure tuning and gapping spark plugs. what do you guys mean by tuning or how to tune my tr. how can i max out my tr?

Tuning involves everything you can play with.

1. Having scantools is a good start, scanmaster, turbolink, guages, direct scan, wideband O2, EGT meter, etc., assuming you have read and understood the manuals and can figure out what each can do and some baseline info. for your application.

2. Plugs, wires, sensors and everything you can do to make the car perform properly for driveability should get you in the ball park for WOT operation.

2A. Boost control is a must with a good gauge, safe boost for your octane is a must to avoid detonation while tuning.

3. Know what chip is in your car and what it's supposed to do. You just might be surprised at how many people buy cars that don't have a clue what chip is in them and what it's for. Many conventional chips are set for a certain boost level WOT and fuel type, stick to it especially if you can't tell what timing is in it. Back to scantools to help sort out your chip if it's unknown. Much easier to buy a well burned chip for these cars these days with many good choices available.

4. Fuel pressure can be adjusted for some help but most run 40-45 psi. hose off fuel pressure with the "right" chip for the application.

5. Make sure things like oil is changed, air filters are clean, fuel filter is clean, and tranny is serviced along with the rear.

6. If you go racing a lot try running the same tune as on the street, pump gas and alky., it makes everything a lot easier. ;) :p

Just my .02 for starters. :cool:

Tune

Ok Thanks For The Info Now Ive Got 93 Octane Chip With 20 Degrees Timing And Red Top Injectors What Do You Think I Can Do With That And A Stock Turbo?

Whos chip?