Transmission, no overdrive and not shifting under WOT

jshaw

I am fairly new to Grand Nationals and automatic transmissions. I purchased a Grand National several months ago, and have been going through several problems (replaced turbo, shorts in radio, new window motors, suspension, etc). Now I am going through the transmission issues. From the receipts, it looks like it was rebuilt about 15k miles ago. I think the best way to express the problems is as a list:
  • Does not seem to go into overdrive
  • The shifter seems to detente in only 3 forward positions (it feels like it will not stay in the first gear position if not held)
  • 2nd gear position acts like first (only 1 gear), 3rd gear position acts like 2nd (2 gears), and overdrive only seems to go through 3 gears
  • It doesn't seem to shift under WOT, I have to let off of the gas
I haven't yet adjusted the TV because the adjustment is stuck and the problems I've read about don't seem related to these problems.

The most similar problem I've seen in forums related to the overdrive and WOT has been with a spring on the governor. I assume the strange shifting detentes could be a linkage issue.

I want to get some input before I start blindly tearing things apart. I have it on the lift right now, so it is pretty simple to run through the gears for suggested diagnostic purposes.

Any suggestions?

I do not have a pressure gauge or line for the transmission, but I guess I probably need to look into getting one.

Thanks for the help!

Could be a number of things from burned up clutches to a burned up converter. I suggest you find a brf 200r4 expert in your area or buy a replacement from a vendor here. Do it once and do it right.