thinking of buying a 3d printer

Scuffler

a little background on myself. i am(was) a cnc machinist. i operated, setup, and programmed my lathe at work. my plan was to buy a manual lathe for my house and start turning parts on the side to sell for people as custom orders or mass produce things like wind chimes or whatever else at flea markets.
i turned a bunch of whistles that sound like train whistles and tossed them to my buddy at work and he took them to a train show ans made quite a bit of money. well, about 2 months ago i cut one of my fingers off at work and sliced another one longways to the bone so i am out on comp and am no longer a machinist by trade.
so, 3d printer was my next idea.
for those that don't know what they are, they have been in manufacturing for years and they are now pretty affordable for the home use. what you can print is only limited by the capabilities of your printer and your programming skills.
3d printing is going to change everything.
here is how it works. instead of spraying ink, it sprays plastics/polymers in different thickness layers. lets say 100 microns thick. then a uv light makes a pass over to harden the layer, then another pass of spray. it literally prints an object from the bottom up. when finished, you have your piece.
for example there is a guy who set up a company in his garage with a 3d printer, printing parts to make another 3d printer. he assembled it and now has 2 printers printing parts... you see.

recently a guy/company printed a fully functional gun(please don't turn this into a gun chat...thanks)

you want an action figure for your child/ print it.
you need a plastic piece for your car? print it.
need a wrench to remove something but don't have it? print it.

just thought i'd talk about it...it's very cool

here is a time lapse of a bust of yoda being printed so you can get the idea