The value of GN's

NY87GN

I’m fairly new to the Buick world, I have always been a big fan of GN’s, I always thought they were out of my budget. After a long shopping cycle I found a real nice 87 GN that was all stock with 40k verifiable miles and new paint. I had the car really checked out and she just needed some tlc. I thought I got a great deal when after weeks of negotiating I was able to convince the previous owner to take a $10k offer. It seems that the value of these cars are all over the place. I have been on this forum for awhile and see some member selling their rides with a similar description for about the same if not less. I have always kept my eye on what I thought the market was for these cars and I thought I got the deal of a life time. Please don’t get me wrong, I could not be any happier with my GN she is a real solid car. I am rambling on, my point is, are the member on this forum just under selling themselves, and not seeing the true value of these outstanding cars?
I have been on Autotrader.com, there are 53 GN or Ttypes for sale with the average price of $19K, I realize that many of these advertisements are from car dealers that jack up the sales price. There are also many private owners as well that have their cars advertised for higher prices. http://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-...mmt=[BUICK[REG[]][]]&captureSearch=true&Log=0

Just a thought that I wanted to share….

I can tell you from experience that those Autotrader ads are way over priced. Sounds like you got a good deal. A decent paint job is around $5-6k. I've always thought that older cars are harder to sell because you can't just get a regular car loan for them. Usually you would get a personal loan, and they don't even want the car as collateral. In these trying times, it is tough to get a personal loan. Credit Unions are probably your best bet. I suspect the seller found that out the hard way.