Sunoco GT 100 Unleaded - question

QuickWE4

Fuggedaboudit.
Hello all:

I've located a Sunoco station near me (well, sort of) that sells GT100 unleaded out of the pump at like $3.99 a gallon. If I run this fuel exclusively, can I have my chip burner make me a chip for 100 octane or is this gas not a true 100 octane?

Prior to this, I had been running Powermist 105 RFG but it's too expensive, and I'm starting to drive the car a tad bit more now that the weather is nice.

Not interested in going to alky right now as I'm still learning how to tune. Primarily like to run the high octane stuff more as cushion for detonation as I don't take the car to the track.

Anybody use this gas on a regular basis?

TIA
Rich

Try it, you light like it!

Rich:

I tried the GT-100 for the first time about a week ago. Prior to this, I had used GT-104 exclusively, but the track only sells the GT-100 now. It ran okay for me. I say try a small amout and sneak up on the boost that you're aiming for. I've never had any problems with the unleaded stuff, but other people have. So, you're right back to having to see if your car responds to it (in a good way!) :)

-Bobby

Thanks Bobby....

I'm going to load up a tank. Just wanted to make sure that when people say that they have a chip burned for 100 race fuel, they mean unleaded OR leaded an not just leaded.

From what I understand, this station used to sell GT104 as well, but I can't find that stuff anywhere - it's just the GT100 now.

Much easier and safer than carrying home four 5-gallon drums of Powermist in the trunk of my Chrysler. Don't want it to become a Pinto, ya know? ;)

Rich

...don't load up yet!