Remember the definition of insanity?

UncleDave

In the Booster Seat
...Which is, doing the same thing over and over, and expecting different results?

Well, I'm insane. Or at least, potentially insane.

Most sage advice is along the lines of, "The only TR worth anything is an '86-87 Intercooled SFI. That's the one to start with." I never listened. I built an IC car, but started with a hot air.

Before that, I bought an '84 GN because I liked the interior. Hot Air, Schmot Air, who cares?

And before that, I had an '83 T-Type. Carbed turbo. It was a dog, but man was she pretty. I ended up blowing the turbo and swapping in an SBC. But hey, I was young.

Never got to where I wanted to be with any of those cars, probably because I'm an engineer and can't leave well enough alone, so I'm never satisfied.

So here I am, it's been 8 years since I last owned a TR, and I come across an ad for an '83 T-Type, and I'm bitten by the nostalgia bug. Cosmetically, she has been bastardized and stripped of her badges, but the body is straight and everything else is there, including the original carbed wheeze box under the hood. But I really have a soft spot for these cars. I'm going to take a look at her tomorrow and I hope she hasn't been sodomized too much, because I have my heart set on bringing her home.

If this works out and I find a new girlfriend --er, project -- to spend all my money on, I might be needing a few parts, and lots of advice (which I probably won't listen to, because, well... history speaks for itself! LOL) regarding tweaks for the LM9.

If that fails, I could build a nice 455, or a twin-turbo'ed 350 Buick... Hmmm.... :sneaky:

There have been more than a few changes with B4black cars since 07 so you might do a little searching on the new tech that's been happening. The link in my sig will give you some ideas on how to build a bigger better turbo for a carbed car, and so far, 1 has run in the 11's. :D