Rear Speakers for Stock Deck

mmarlett

Happy Spring,

Forgive me, but I am not good with stereo speakers and their ohm ratings. I have a stock 87' radio/casette with the CSII set-up and I am looking to replace all 6 stock speakers. I can locate 4 ohm speakers for the front dash and doors. However, I see that the rear speakers are 10 ohm. After reviewing other postings on this forum, I understand incorrect speakers ohm ratings can damage the radio.

With the stock radio, do I need to continue to use 10 ohm speaker in the back? What is recomended for replacement rear 10 ohm speakers?

I prefer to keep 4 X 10 speakers and avoid any wire splicing, etc.

Thanks!
Matt

you need 10 ohms up front, 4 ohms in the back are ok for a oem style set up....you seem to have it backwards.
also,i can build you a plug so you can use 4 ohms in front,it will be plug and play...pm me for info.

Now I am really confused. I pulled a rear speaker (from inside the trunk) this weekend and it read Delco 10 ohm. I have this wrong?

I have not pulled the other front speakers. However, this is a factory original radio set-up.

So, so I must use 10 ohm speakers for the 3.5" dash? I also need to use 10 ohm speakers for the doors? Again, still confused on the rears.

Thanks
Matt

10 ohm dash
10 ohm doors .....equals 5 ohm each channel on front stereo outputs.

rear should be 4 ohm (theres only one speaker per channel,not two per ch like the front.)

Thanks Gary for the clarification. I will pull the front speakers in the upcoming weeks. However, when I got home last night, I confirmed the rear deck speakers have 10 ohm listed on them. I would post a picture on this link if I knew how. Then again, does it really matter?

It nice having help from members like yourself and the patience for slow learners like me.

Thanks!
Matt