Question for Eric @ turbotweak

Black Power

Eric,

My 87 Gn has a 4.1 (from a Caddy, it's not a stroker) with stock heads, a 206/206 flat tappet cam, 50# injectors and old school TT alky chip, SMC progressive alky, and a 6776 turbo. Stock MAF. I have a scanmaster but otherwise nothing to monitor anything.

It idles fine, runs fine, but when it gets into high boost it doesn't knock like if it's going really lean, it just cuts out and won't rev any higher.

My theory (uneducated at best) is that the big turbo is pulling in so much air it's maxing out the maf... (actually I know it is maxing it out at like 10 psi because the Maf reading is 255) and when that happens the fueling just goes bonkers.

I need something to get this thing tuned right, because the current chip was for a 3.8 with a smaller turbo and less boost. Given the fact that I have a stock MAF, what are my options and what do you recommend? Keep in mind I am 25 years old and on a budget, so a MAFT or FAST is not even close to being on my list ;)

That's why I am hoping one of your TT chips can save me from going insane...or even maybe a TT chip, translator, and LS1 Maf.

Any help much appreciated.

Will

The MAF maxing out is not a problem, but the chip does need to be set up correctly for your setup. If this is only happening at higher boost, then it's most likely going lean, or the spark is dying out. With alky, sometimes you can go lean without showing a bunch of knock.
If you can give me your chip# (written on the chip label), I can see how it was programmed.

The MAF maxing out is not a problem, but the chip does need to be set up correctly for your setup. If this is only happening at higher boost, then it's most likely going lean, or the spark is dying out. With alky, sometimes you can go lean without showing a bunch of knock.
If you can give me your chip# (written on the chip label), I can see how it was programmed.

IMG_1564.jpg