Professional Style Auto Diagnostics? Need some opinions/advice.

turbo39151

anycoloraslongasitsblack
I have been contemplating purchasing a diagnostic tool (scope or graph or ?) for being able to better diagnose the little crap that pops up now and again on some of my dd's.

I have a basic OBDII scanner called ScanGaugeII http://www.scangauge.com/ It's very helpful and useful for some things but is lacking when I need more info to diagnose.

Besides the Buicks, I have cars as old as 1997 and as new as 2004. (Hopefully, a newer model one of these days...) Anyway, my initial reading on the subject has me confused as there are various platforms that may or may not be supported.

I am not a mechanic. That being said, I'm looking to buy something that a mechanic might use in order to better diagnose issues. I'd like the tool to be comprehensive and cover a multitude of models, be upgradeable and be relatively easy to use and understand. (I don't have the time or patience to learn a super complex system). Finally, I would like for the tool to be relatively affordable.

I don't think this would be an item I'd use all the time so it doesn't need to cost thousands of dollars (like in a pro-shop). I'm just getting tired of dealing with stupid stuff that I should be able to diagnose on my own and I'm starting to think that this is just one of those tools that is going to be necessary for all cars in the near future.

I'm hoping some of the mechanics and computer experts here might be able to guide me in the right direction.

I'm no expert(i drive a truck) but I do repair our vehicles. I bought an autoxray. It is upgradable through their website. The only thing I would want that it doesn't do it the airbag and antilock brakes. I have been looking for a piece to do those things and have.it narrowed down to one of these.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004OOJ9RI/ref=aw_ls_3_7?colid=U8S3YFNP1ACD&coliid=I2D86A9TCWBS01