piston advice

lp2

badass mofo
piston advice (more info)

Hey guys, yet another question. I had to 30 over my block, and want some opinions on pistons. I see a lot of arguments between what is best, and I'm looking for some opinions.

They will be going into my 85 wh1, and price is an issue, I'm a poor university student with increasing tuition next year. :(

Thanks in advance guys.

i have sterling hypos in my 85 motor and tryed to blow the heads off it...it detinated so much i unhooked the knock sensor cause i got tired of it bucking and i could not kill them you could here it pinging bad when i run someone since it echoed off their car..

i would say you would be fine with them..

if you want good prices on everything call up northern auto parts and price check them i bet they will be hard to beat.

1-800-831-0884

part # will be H521NP 30

I'm confused, it seems you are saying the pistons you discribed casued your motor to knock a lot? Then you say they are a good choice? when you daid you tried to blow the heads off it (put lots of boost to it?) I'm not trying to pick any fights, I'm very interested in the same question as Ip2, and didn't understand your post red.
thanks

other words i tried to blow it up and they still look new so what others on here say about them not being tough is a crock..:)

93 octane and 20# on a hotair motor is a lil hard on one but it survived.

i recomend them since budget was mentioned ;)

This debate is never ending. I've heard horror stories about the hypereutectics and I've heard they're tough. Personally, I've never seen a broken hyper but I did break a TRW forged piston (I think it was improper clearances). I went with forged JEs $620 for peace of mind this time because I tend to run mine hard all the time.