Paint Shops

GNBlack

Guys i am seriously thinking about painting my car.....sure needs it. Problem a lot of paint shops i have been to dont show examples of there work.....past cars painted in a book sure seems simple enough but i havnt seen it yet. All i want to know is where to go? what i should look for and what are warnings signs of a bad shop or possible bad one? As u all know painting your car is a big cost and i want no surprises.....what about if your not happy with the job you get? can you tell them to do it over? I have never done this before and need all the feedback i can get. Please help.
If there is anyone out there from Vancouver, Bc Canada as well please pass on what you know are good shops and not. Thanks!

I work at a body shop on weekends for extra cash and we actually gaurantee our work. If the shop of your choosing cannot say that and stand behind it then go elsewhere.
Basicly you get what you pay for when it comes to a good body shop.
Tom

Go to car shows, club gatherings, etc. in your area and ask the guys with nice paint to refer you. Looking at real cars beats photo albums any day.

Paint shops suk. You'd experience less pain crushing your own head in a bench vise than having your car painted. Let the next guy paint it...

:) well considering i plan on keep the car for good or thats how i feel now.....i think ill end up painting it.

Actually paint shops don't suck. people that are out to get your money for a half ass job suck. There are a lot of maintenance shops that are the same way. Just glad I don't have to worry about it.

Pay nothing up front. If you don't pay in the end, they will put a mechanic's lein on it so there's really no reason to leave a deposit. Plus, if they screw around and don't get it done timely, you can pick it up and leave. Once it starts taking up space inside, they'll get it done quickly; getting them started is the biggest trick.

Originally posted by strikeeagle