Not pulling enough boost

phicho

I just bought 84 gn. It runs good, but I question if it is pulling enough boost. It is pulling between 7 to 9 lbs. What should it pull. CAr has 126,000 miles.

I just bought 84 gn. It runs good, but I question if it is pulling enough boost. It is pulling between 7 to 9 lbs. What should it pull. CAr has 126,000 miles.

Is the car stock? Also what are you using to determine the boost level? The dash boost gauge is not normally accurate and most people install an aftermarket boost gauge. I think stock boost is around 14 lbs.

Car is stock. Using aftermarket gauge that was installed when I purchased. My car has digital inst panel. Inst panel has 2 indicator lites for boost. Top light comes on when turbo spools, but bottom lite rarely comes on. Any help here is appricated. I am new to the GN world. I have always been a fan, and just recently had the chance to pick up an 84 GN.

I have a digital dash as well. Gotta love the boost idiot lights:rolleyes:

When the boost gauge was installed, where is it getting vacuum/pressure from? Most (like myself) use the small port in the front of the intake manifold.

Welcome

The 14lb boost level is when everything is working right,93 octane and it's your lucky day. Most HA only see about 12lbs max stock. Did your GN come with an adjustable If it's adjustable your wastegate rod will have a nut and threading on it.

What are you goals/plans for this GN?

Did you find out your boost problem? I just bought a 84 hotair car and put a new mototr in it and Im only pulling about 2 pounds of boost and cant figure it out. Hope you figured it out and can help me. Thank you.

Did you find out your boost problem? I just bought a 84 hotair car and put a new mototr in it and Im only pulling about 2 pounds of boost and cant figure it out. Hope you figured it out and can help me. Thank you.