Need helllllllllpppp!!!!!!

Shamusvelez

Ok..... Overhauled my 85' gn. Brand new just about everything. Rebuilt motor with a reputable builder everything brand new, as well as most of the bolt ons ( altenator, starter, water pump, intake manifold etc.)
Having a problem with the oil-choke light, Oil pressure problem. Housing is brand new as was replaced with the engine rebuild. Motor mech fiddled and adjusted a couple of things as per his advisors ( springs, shims, etc.) things in and around the oil pump housing. Things i know nothing about. Im new to this so i just would like to know.... What other things with this car could it be thats causing the oil-choke light to come on? I know these motors are problematic when it comes to the oil flowing, just need some input from folks that have maybe had similar problems and what remedies were used to fix them. A broader process of elimination. Bare in mind im temporarily canceling out the possibility that its the cam bearing, or something that was f-ed up in the rebuild process (tolerances etc.) because this is an experienced motor builder. What else causes oil pressure problems??? Please help me!!!

hook up a real gauge and see if it's actually an oil pressure problem. might just be that the wire to the oil pressure sender is pinched off somewhere or the sender is bad.

What I prefer to do . . . . :eek:
Hook up a good gage, and prime the motor with a 600 rpm drill, which equates to 1200 rpm.
You should see 60-70 PSI cold.
If you don't see the pressure in this range, there is a problem.
You can than resolve before turning the key.